fr
en
Retour aux articles

GRTgaz and Mines Paris – PSL launch a joint research laboratory on hydrogen: Défi H

On the occasion of Mines Paris Research Day 2022, GRTgaz, the main gas transmission operator committed to the energy transition, and Mines Paris – PSLa leading French engineering school, have signed a five-year partnership for research in the field of hydrogen, resulting in the creation of a joint laboratory, Défi H. Intended to study the effects of hydrogen on structural materials, Défi H will generate new thesis work and develop new technological tools through close collaboration between the teams.

A partnership resolutely focused on the energy transition, consolidating France's ambitions in the field of hydrogen

Through its RICE Research and Development center, GRTgaz has maintained a close relationship with Mines Paris – PSL for several years, through Chairs, theses and projects involving doctoral students, post-doctoral students, specialized masters and interns. Recently, and after several studies on the impacts of hydrogen on steels, GRTgaz and MINES Paris – PSL have embarked on more ambitious projects: the Gas Economy Chair, the Prothycol project (Protection of pipes using Coldspray technology, winner of the 2018 Open Innovation award), the Precos project (Repair of pipes using Coldspray). An industrial ANR chair MESSIAH (Mini-Tests for the In-Service Monitoring of Structures with Application to Hydrogen Transport) has even been created.

The major role that hydrogen will play in the decarbonization of industry and transportation is being confirmed day by day. A network adapted to hydrogen by converting existing structures costs two to three times less than a new network. By enabling the interconnection between consumption and production points and access to underground storage, this dedicated network will effectively support the development of a hydrogen market in France.

With Défi H, GRTgaz and Mines Paris – PSL wish to strengthen the synergies of research and training activities related to the protection and aging of hydrogen transport networks.

The main objective of this partnership is to develop work and common actions around several axes:

  • detailed knowledge of the characteristics of energy transport materials;
  • new methods of analysis of the characteristics of materials, based on the sampling of mini-coupons without destroying the original support;
  • analysis of the effects of hydrogen on materials;
  • the study of the prospects for the future of gas networks and the gas economy.

GRTgaz and Mines Paris – PSL will be able to pool their research and collaborate on several test beds that make up Défi H, The RICE Fenhyx platform will also be made available for the needs of Mines Paris – PSL researchers who will be able to generate new academic knowledge. Fenhyx is a unique experimental platform for determining the effects of hydrogen, alone or in a mixture, on metallic specimens, and under pressure.

“Research has always played a key role in GRTgaz’s business plan. This kind of collaboration allows us to develop knowledge sharing between the academic and industrial worlds, and to bring researchers closer to the economic challenges of the years to come, namely the development of hydrogen and its transportation by pipeline. Hydrogen is the energy of the future and it is logical that GRTgaz should surround itself with high-level researchers in order to prepare together for the energy transition of tomorrow.”
Anne-Sophie Decaux, Technical Director – Head of Industrial Performance and New Technologies at GRTgaz.

“I am very pleased with this new agreement – which further strengthens the ties between Mines Paris and GRTgaz – and underscores our commitment to the benefit of industry, business and society – in the search for solutions for the energy transition and collective progress towards a carbon neutral world.”
Vincent Laflèche, General Manager of Mines Paris – PSL

With FenHYx, RICE is guiding the future of hydrogen
The development of research into new gases, in particular hydrogen, is a key part of the energy transition of which RICE intends to be a leader. As Tanguy Manchec, coordinator of the Hydrogen program, explains, the installation of the FenHYx platform aims to address these concerns by providing state-of-the-art testing facilities for our...
Lire l'article
Nova, GRTgaz’s new start-up incubator
The Nova by GRTgaz incubator aims to host start-ups that develop innovative solutions related to renewable gases, hydrogen, decarbonization of uses, industry 4.0, operational performance, safety or asset optimization. The call for applications was launched this Wednesday, June 15 and will end on August 16, 2022. The terms and conditions are...
Lire l'article
Voir aussi

fr
en
Retour aux articles

GRTgaz et Mines Paris – PSL lancent un Laboratoire commun de recherche sur l’hydrogène : Défi H

A l’occasion du Mines Paris Research Day 2022, GRTgaz, principal opérateur de transport de gaz engagé dans la transition énergétique, et Mines Paris – PSL, grande école d’ingénieurs française, signent un partenariat de 5 ans sur la recherche dans le domaine de l’hydrogène, concrétisé par la création d’un laboratoire commun, Défi H. Destiné à étudier les effets de l’hydrogène sur les matériaux de structure, Défi H permettra de générer de nouveaux travaux de thèses et mettre au point de nouveaux outils technologiques grâce à une collaboration étroite entre les équipes.

Un partenariat résolument tourné vers la transition énergétique consolidant les ambitions françaises dans le domaine de l'hydrogène

GRTgaz entretient, à travers son centre de Recherche et Développement RICE, une relation étroite depuis plusieurs années avec Mines Paris – PSL autour de Chaires, de thèses et de projets en mobilisant des doctorants, post doctorants, des mastères spécialisés et des stagiaires. Récemment, et après plusieurs études relatives aux impacts de l’hydrogène sur les aciers, GRTgaz et MINES Paris – PSL se sont engagés dans des projets plus ambitieux : chaire économie du gaz, projet Prothycol (Protection des canalisations par la technologie Coldspray, lauréat de l’Open Innovation 2018), projet Precos (Réparation des canalisations par Coldspray). Une chaire ANR industrielle MESSIAH (Mini-Eprouvettes pour le Suivi en Service des structures avec Application au transport d’Hydrogène) a même été créée.

Le rôle majeur que l’hydrogène jouera dans la décarbonation de l’industrie et des transports se confirme de jour en jour. Un réseau adapté à l’hydrogène par la conversion d’ouvrages existants coûte deux à trois fois moins cher qu’un réseau neuf. En permettant le foisonnement entre points de consommation et de production et l’accès aux stockages souterrains, ce réseau dédié permettra de soutenir efficacement le développement d’un marché de l’hydrogène en France.

Avec Défi H, GRTgaz et Mines Paris – PSL souhaitent ainsi renforcer les synergies des activités de recherche et de formation liées à la protection et au vieillissement des réseaux de transport d’hydrogène.

L’objectif principal de ce partenariat est de développer des travaux et des actions communes autour de plusieurs axes :

  • la connaissance fine des caractéristiques des matériaux de transport d’énergie ;
  • de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse des caractéristiques des matériaux, fondées sur le prélèvement de mini-coupons sans détruire le support d’origine ;
  • l’analyse des effets de l’hydrogène sur les matériaux ;
  • l’étude des perspectives de l’avenir des réseaux de gaz et de l’économie du gaz.

GRTgaz et Mines Paris – PSL pourront mutualiser leurs recherches et collaborer au sein de plusieurs bancs d’essai qui constituent Défi H. À titre d’exemple, la plateforme Fenhyx de RICE sera également mise à disposition pour les besoins des chercheurs de Mines Paris – PSL qui pourront ainsi générer des connaissances académiques nouvelles. Fenhyx est une plateforme unique d’expérimentation permettant de déterminer les effets de l’hydrogène, seul ou en mélange, sur des éprouvettes métalliques, et sous pression.

 

 

« La recherche a toujours eu une place prépondérante dans le projet d’entreprise de GRTgaz. Une telle collaboration permet de développer le partage de connaissances entre les mondes académiques et industriels, et de rapprocher les chercheurs des enjeux économiques des années à venir, à savoir le développement de l’hydrogène et son transport par canalisations. L’hydrogène est l’énergie du futur et il est logique que GRTgaz s’entoure de chercheurs de haut niveau afin de préparer ensemble la transition énergétique de demain. »
Anne-Sophie Decaux, Directrice Technique – Responsable du Domaine Performance Industrielle et Technologies Nouvelles de GRTgaz.

 

« Je suis très heureux de ce nouvel accord – qui resserre un peu plus les liens entre Mines Paris et GRTgaz – et souligne notre engagement au bénéfice de l’industrie, des entreprises et de la société – dans la recherche de solutions pour la transition énergétique et la progression collective vers un monde neutre en carbone. »
Vincent Laflèche, Directeur Général de Mines Paris – PSL

 

Avec FenHYx, RICE éclaire le futur de l’hydrogène
Le développement de la recherche autour des nouveaux gaz, et en particulier de l'hydrogène, occupe une place primordiale dans la transition énergétique dans laquelle RICE souhaite s'engager. Comme l'explique Tanguy Manchec, coordinateur du programme Hydrogène, l'installation de la plateforme FenHYx a pour objectif de répondre à ces...
Lire l'article
Nova, le nouvel incubateur de start-ups de GRTgaz
L’incubateur Nova by GRTgaz vise à accueillir des start-ups qui développent des solutions innovantes liées aux gaz renouvelables, à l’hydrogène, à la décarbonation des usages, à l’industrie 4.0, à la performance opérationnelle, la sécurité ou encore à l’optimisation des assets. L’appel à candidatures a été lancé ce...
Lire l'article
Voir aussi